Archive for the ‘Scholarships’ Category

KOLR10 covers Ozarks Teacher Corps; 2016 applications due March 15

Thanks go out to KOLR10 for its weekend coverage of the Ozarks Teacher Corps, the CFO’s training program for future rural teachers that has served as the model for a regional program with the same goals.

You can view the story at the KOLR10 website,, here.

Online applications for the 2016 class of the Ozarks Teacher Corps are due by 5 p.m. on Friday, March 15. The incoming class will be selected quickly and honored at the Rural Schools Rendezvous in Mansfield on Friday, April 8. Applications can be found here.

New Ozarks Teacher Corps students introduced

Group-OTCThe Rural Schools Partnership recognized 10 new members of the Ozarks Teacher Corps at its annual Rural Schools Rendezvous in Reeds Spring in April.

Each of the 10 students is a teaching education major, representing Evangel University, and Missouri State University campuses in both Springfield and West Plains. Each student will receive $4,000 scholarships for both of their last two years of school. In exchange, they must agree to teach at least their first three years in a small district – defined in the Ozarks as anything outside of Springfield or Joplin – and attend Ozarks Teacher Corps events over the next two years.

These students’ reasons for applying for the Ozarks Teacher Corps  – besides a sizeable scholarship, funded by the Chesley and Flora Lea Wallis Trust – all come back to their own experiences growing up, and a desire to sustain small communities.

The members of this year’s class are (pictured, left to right): Samantha Orr, Fair Grove; McKenzie Moreland, Pierce City; Blane Redus, Marionville; Nathan Christeson, Cabool; Ashley Howell, West Plains; Jennifer Cockrum, Bakersfield; Whitney Randolph, Eminence; Danielle Best, Strafford; Brittany Witt, Lake Ozark; and Becky Wells, Republic.

Since 2010, 68 students have been accepted to the Ozarks Teacher Corps and more than 90 percent have found employment in rural districts following graduation. For more information on scholarship program, go to

More than $1 million in CFO scholarships available to regional students

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks is offering a record number of scholarships that open Feb. 1 for applications from students across southern Missouri interested in pursuing advanced education opportunities.

This year’s scholarship awards and renewals, which are made possible by generous donors, are approaching $1.04 million, up from about $1 million awarded during the 2014 scholarship cycle. These represent some 365 named scholarship funds, with many awarding multiple scholarships to students across southern Missouri.

Information about the scholarship opportunities is available at, where students and parents can search for scholarships by city of residence. Students also can contact their high-school counseling offices. Application deadlines vary, with the earliest due on March 6, 2015.

Several scholarships will be awarded for the first time in 2015, including:

 The Beadles, Pryer, McCoy Scholarship established to honor three generations of family graduates from Ozark High School; for current graduating Ozark seniors attending a two- or four-year college, university or vocational/technical school.

 The Betty H. King Scholarship for college-bound females from the following Missouri counties: Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Ozark, Polk, Stone, Taney, Webster, and Wright, who intend to obtain a degree in math, science or engineering.

 The Dr. Mary Newman Scholarship for college-bound graduates of Cassville, Exeter and Southwest (Washburn) High Schools in Missouri. One scholarship awarded to each school.

 The Protect the Farm Scholarship supporting graduating seniors in Polk County who are majoring in agriculture or agriculture-related fields: Students from Bolivar, Fair Play, Halfway, Humansville, Marion C. Early and Pleasant Hope high schools are eligible.

The Thelma Stanley Jayhawk Scholarship for Carthage High School graduates and/or current college students from the Carthage area, who are attending the University of Kansas in Lawrence.

The CFO scholarships offer a wide range of opportunities for students attending public or private colleges and universities, medical or nursing schools, vocational-technical education, and funds designated for students from specific high schools by donors and alumni giving back to their communities. Amounts range from $250 to $5,000 per academic year, with many of the scholarships renewable for up to three additional years.

“Through our many donors’ generosity, CFO is proud to serve outstanding students in our greater Ozarks community,” Scholarship Coordinator Judith Billings said. “Almost daily, we hear from recipients who so appreciate the support and opportunity these scholarships provide toward their future.”

For more information about CFO scholarship programs, contact Judith Billings at:; or call (417) 864-6199.